Job Search | Job Seekers | EmployersLogin   

Saved Searches and the Search Agent


What is the Search Agent and how do I use it?

Our Search Agent is a facility that identifies qualified candidates who have just registered as job seekers and who meet criteria that you establish. Like a bloodhound, it stays hot on the trail day after day, sniffing out candidates you're currently seeking. Unlike a bloodhound, it requires no maintenance on your part. It doesn't bark, either. It merely sends you an email alerting you to the candidates who meet your established criteria.

To put the Search Agent to work for you is quite easy. You merely construct a search that describes the candidate you are seeking. Then click the "Search" button. If at least one candidate is found, you're almost finished. If not, you need to click "back" on your browser and make your search criteria less restrictive. The idea here is to create a search that works before the Search Agent can be called upon to keep looking. This is analogous to giving a bloodhound something to sniff before sending it out to search for the person who has the same scent. As time passes, if too many candidates are found by the Search Agent, you can then restrict the search again.

Once you have constructed a search that results in at least one candidate, you can then enter an appropriate name for this set of search criteria in the "Save Search As" field and click the "Save" button. Now you will have a saved search known by the name you have just assigned, and the Saved Searches page will be displayed. The Saved Searches display shows all search criteria you had previously saved (if any) and the one you just saved marked with a ">" symbol next to its name.

By default, this saved search will be enabled (active) for use by the Search Agent. So you can sit back and relax, because the Search Agent is now on-the-job, looking for new candidates meeting your job requirements. Each morning (including weekends and holidays), you will receive an email if the Search Agent found at least one candidate who registered on the previous day and met all of the criteria defined in your saved search. The email will include a link for each matching candidate, directing your browser to the candidate's on-line resume and skills profile when clicked.

You may save as many searches as you want. Typically, you would have one saved search for each of your job requisitions, with criteria tailored to a job's unique requirements. If qualifying candidates are found for more than one of your saved searches, you will receive one Search Agent Results email for each of them.

You may save searches that you want to reuse later

If you want to save a new candidate search, simply enter the search criteria on the resume search page and click the "Search" button. If your search results in at least one match, a "Save Search As" field will be displayed. Enter an appropriate name for this set of search criteria (maximum length is 30) and click the "Save" button. You will then be taken to the Saved Searches page. If you do not want the Search Agent (see above) to automatically inform you of new candidates meeting these criteria, click "No" in the "Active for Search Agent" column for this search and then click the "Submit" button. By default, saved searches are enabled (active) for use by the Search Agent.

How do I reuse or modify a search that I previously saved?

On the resume search page, simply select the desired saved search from the "Use Saved Criteria" pull-down menu and click the "Apply" button. All of the criteria defined in the saved search will be displayed on the search page, recreating exactly how the search looked when it was first saved (or last modified). You can then execute the search as-is by clicking the "Search" button, or you can modify the search keywords or any of the other criteria available on the page before executing the search. If the search yields any candidates, you can save it under the same name (modify existing) or a new name (create new), if desired.

Also, you may click on any saved search name displayed on the Saved Searches page. This will immediately execute the search saved under that name. Then you can review the results and click "Modify Search" if you want to make any changes.

Deleting an existing saved search

If you are absolutely sure that you no longer need a saved search, either for on-demand reuse or for use by the Search Agent, then you can delete the saved search. Check the box under the "Delete" column for the saved search you want deleted and then click the "Submit" button. The page will be reloaded to reflect the deleted searches, and you're finished. If you want to delete all of your searches, simply click on the "Select all for deletion" button. This checks the delete box for all of your saved searches on the displayed page. It is important to note that this is merely a "keying assist", and that no deletion has actually occurred yet. You may now review the saved searches and decide which, if any, you want to manually uncheck. Then, you can click on the "Submit" button to delete all of the checked searches, or you can click "Reset" to refresh the display using the last saved values. The "Reset" feature is handy if you didn't mean to click the "Select all for deletion" button and you want to quickly uncheck all of the boxes again. However, once you have clicked "Submit", the deed is done.

Renaming an existing saved search

At this time, we do not directly support renaming a saved search. However, you can reuse a saved search as described earlier, execute the search, save it under a new name, and then delete the original.

What if I don't want to keep getting this Search Agent email anymore?

Eventually, you may no longer want the Search Agent to look for new candidates that meet your search criteria (because a position has been filled, for example). But you may want to keep the search criteria for possible on-demand reuse, or maybe you may want the Search Agent to start looking again at a later date (because of a new job opening with identical or very similar requirements). Then you need only deactivate the saved search for use by the Search Agent. Click "No" under the "Active for Search Agent" column for the saved search you want deactivated and then click the "Submit" button. The page will be reloaded to reflect the new setting(s), and that's all there is to it. If you want to deactivate all of your searches, simply click on the "Select all for deactivation" button. This sets the active status to "No" for all of your saved searches on the displayed page. It is important to note that this is merely a "keying assist", and that no status update has actually occurred yet. You may now review the saved searches and decide which, if any, you want to manually reset to "Yes". Then, you can click on the "Submit" button to update all of the search status settings, or you can click "Reset" to refresh the display using the last saved values. The "Reset" feature is handy if, after clicking "Yes" and "No" here and there, you have lost track of how the active/inactive statuses were originally set. However, once you have clicked "Submit", the deed is done.




© 2022 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
670 Aberdeen Way, Milpitas, CA 95035
+1 (408) 882-6541 — Contact Us, or visit our other sites:
AECCafe - Architectural Design and Engineering EDACafe - Electronic Design Automation GISCafe - Geographical Information Services  MCADCafe - Mechanical Design and Engineering ShareCG - Share Computer Graphic (CG) Animation, 3D Art and 3D Models
  Privacy PolicyAdvertise